Ph: +91 033 40715614 (M) +91 9830805572


Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 awarded to David Thouless, Dunca

The 2016 Noble Prize in Physics was awarded to David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz on Tuesday. The Prize was awarded "for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter”, announced Goran K Hansson, the General Secretary of The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

David J Thouless, who won one half of the prize, is Emeritus Professor at the University of Washington in Seattle. The other half of the prize is shared by Duncan Haldane, Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics at Princeton, and Michael Kosterlitz, Professor of Physics at Brown University

Date:  2016-10-25